Mostly eating in Madrid #1

Last weekend I visited my friend Nancy in Madrid, where she teaches English. Since I had Nancy as a tour guide, I didn’t have to do much research, but I knew a little about some things I definitely wanted to check out: art, tapas, and Jamon Iberico. Our first stop was Casa Valiño, a little tapas place in Nancy’s neighborhood.

It felt like a neighborhood place where locals dine. We had some standard tapas like chorizo in wine, manchego cheese, and anchovies. I confess I had never had an anchovy before, but they tasted wonderful on crisp toast with lemon.

Later we had some wonderful Spanish wine at La Teteria de la Abuela, a small hipster-ish cafe that served vegetarian sandwiches and numerous teas.

Leave a Reply

